Skip to main content

Research Repository

Advanced Search


Hails, John



Work for solo piano requested and first performed by Nicholas Ashton.
This work samples vertical chord structures from an earlier piece for piano (EVEN MORE GEESE), which itself was derived from an ensemble piece (More Geese).
These samples are presented embedded in a durational structure as if preserved in amber, separated by silences.
The work employs all three pedals in various combinations to heighten the harmonic content.


Hails, J. (2012). EMG. [Musical score]. Edinburgh, Scotland

Other Type Composition
Publication Date Jul 1, 2012
Deposit Date Jul 2, 2012
Publicly Available Date Jul 2, 2012
Peer Reviewed Not Peer Reviewed
Keywords Vertical chord structures; piano; ensemble;
Public URL
Contract Date Jul 2, 2012


You might also like

Downloadable Citations